• Pairaw
  • Posts
  • I destroyed my fear today

I destroyed my fear today


Today I woke up,

Took my clothes off,

And stared at the mirror.

I was horrified.

Why?

It was time for my morning cold shower.

If you don’t know, morning cold showers are basically like a pill to boost the day.

They energize you, make you happier, and circuit your body to say “Okay, it’s time to work.”

And yet, for some reason, they absolutely horrified me.

I stared at that shower for a solid 3 minutes contemplating my life and my decisions.

Fear paralyzed me.

I was rationalizing and backtracking on all the promises I made myself the night before.

But then I turned the water on.

I looked at it and though: is this really the thing I’ve been worrying about?

“Just some cold water?" Am I a fool?”

With INCREDIBLE reluctance, I hopped in the shower.

I lasted 5 seconds.

A while after the shower.

In truth, that’s all that matters.

5 pushups > 0 pushups
5 posts > 0 posts
5 emails > 0 emails
5 seconds > 0 seconds

“Today I escaped from anxiety. Or no, I discarded it, because it was within me, in my own perceptions; not outside.”
— Marcus Aurelius

Fear is just creative resistance.

If we fear something, it’s the resistance monster lunging at us trying to bring us down.

The truth is, this is entirely internal.

We can destroy the resistance and conquer our fear by just doing what we’re afraid of, right now.

We can let the creativity flow through our actions and into our work.

Imagine being such a fearless creator; being able to tackle any problem or issue that once hurt you, and laughing at whatever it was.

I conquered my fear today. And I’m proud of myself for doing so.

Now, it’s time for you to do the same.

~~~ ACTION STEP ~~~
Find a fear, a minor fear you have, and destroy it. You can do it for one second. The importance is that you just find the fear, acknowledge it, and destroy it.

Powers to you,

Z2